A Friday Song for the Land of the Free

I’ve been reading a lot of articles about Detroit’s financial troubles since they filed for bankruptcy in July.  I know it’s been coming for a long time, and from the pictures I’ve seen Detroit looks more like the streets of Berlin after WWII than the chrome plated, smokestack belching city of industry that I used to picture in my mind, but I never really thought it would come to this.  Now Christie’s is appraising the art collection at the Detroit Institute of Arts (DIA) museum, although there’s nay-saying going on about how they aren’t really going to sell anything, yadda, yadda, yadda. Here’s one that Christie’s is looking at that you just might know…

Van_Gogh_Self-Portrait_with_Straw_Hat_1887-Detroit

Vincent van Gogh

Self-Portrait with Straw Hat, 1887

 Sad, right?  I hope they get to keep their art.  I mean, that’s like losing a little bit of the heart and soul of the city.  Detroit, and to all our brothers and sisters in the great state of Michigan, I wish you joy and peace and financial solvency galore.

I understand that the song below is called “the Friday song” in Michigan and that it’s played every Friday afternoon by some cool as heck radio stations up in that neck of the woods.  Around here, it’s known as “the every single day of your life” song.  Not to me though.  I’m talking about other people. Seriously.  And it’s really just called “Shanty” around here – the every single day part was a fib.  The rest was true.  Okay, I’ve got to fix this…excuse me a minute…

Dear Big Brother, I smoke absolutely nothing, and I don’t eat brownies of any kind, spiked or plain.  That’s right, I don’t even eat sugar. NO SUGAR!  I don’t drink the Big Gulps from 7-11 either.  Is that clean livin’ enough for ya?  I just like the song!  Now lay off, Big Brother!

Umm…still not enough – excuse me one more time…

Dear Big Brother, it’s about coffee.  It’s a coffee buzz that Jonathan is singing about.  It’s a song about sitting around the kitchen table, drinking coffee.  Yep.  Definitely coffee.  And the lighting up part is about his Marlboro reds.*  Wait!  But he is doing the smoking in the designated area outside, after he drinks his coffee.

*These statements do not apply in Colorado and Washington.

MarlborosimagesCACX2O0J

There, that oughta do it.

Now fill it, light it, shut up, and close the door… (Those are just lyrics, Big Brother; just lyrics that do not express my personal viewpoint in any way. And by “fill it” Jonathan means his coffee cup.  And the “light it” = the Marlboros in the designated area outside.  See? P.S., I’m sorry, Big Brother, that I told you to lay off in that tone earlier. Please don’t be mad at me.)… 

Let’s have another hit…from Jonathan Edwards, that is.

“Some man’s gone, he’s tried to run my life, don’t know what he’s askin’

He tells me I’d better get in line, can’t hear what he’s sayin'”… 

Have a free and easy weekend, friends.  Peace.

4 Comments

Filed under Humor, Music

4 responses to “A Friday Song for the Land of the Free

  1. Jamie

    Detroit’s problems were highlighted on the BBC news over here in the UK a week ago. Some of the street scenes were very depressing.
    On a happier note a song ‘Detroit City’ has just been released by the band Texas over here – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s2EiZMMjxFU – enjoy!

  2. Pingback: Welcome to the 2013 Marie Awards! | My Wild Surmise

  3. Pingback: Pull the Shades Down Tighter, Captain Jack, I Think I’m Sinking Down | My Wild Surmise

Leave a Reply

