I Can Change. If I Have To. I Guess.

I keep saying I’m working on a post about Jeff Beck because I’ve been reading his biography, “Hot Wired Guitar”, and I’ve even told twitterworld that I’m “finishing it tonight”, but it’s time to come clean.  If I have to.  I guess.  I haven’t finished the book yet, which is not to say I don’t like it, because I do, but I’m trying to read two books at once, that one and P.D. James’ “The Murder Room”.  Mysteries and biographies run neck and neck on my reading priority list, so I’ve been distracted with both of them.  Like I’ll read one for a few minutes, put it down, and pick up the other one.  Usually I’ll do a little tweeting or YouTubing between them, but that’s pretty much how it goes down every night.

Cover of "The Murder Room"

Cover of The Murder Room

All this takes place in the dark, in the bed, covered in dogs, covers all askew, during my marathon insomnia sessions.  That’s not conducive to semi-serious research or even cognizant thought, really.  So I’m going to start reading like I’ve seen people do on TV – in my recliner in the living room, with the reading light aimed just right, dogs sleeping soundly at my feet, a fire lit in the fireplace, etc.  It’s going to be an adjustment, but I can change.  If I have to.  I guess.  Except that the dogs are going to be all weirded out and probably bark and wake everyone up, and my hubby will be all weirded out what with wondering what’s gotten into me and he’ll probably bark and wake everyone up too.  So I can’t guarantee anything.  Speaking of the hubby, I’m also under all this pressure to do a good job on my Jeff Beck post because he’s his number one fan-dude or something like that.  That’s not helping matters any.  I’m just going to tell myself over and over that it’s okay to do my standard crummy job.

imagesWB3UF4SR

Anyway, I haven’t posted in a few days, and it’s probably going to be at least a few more before the J. Beck post is done (in fact, just forget I said anything about it for now) and I didn’t want you to be thinking “she’s not there”*.  I could blame it on the time of the season** or any number of trumped up excuses, but we both know it’s really my old nemesis, Lay Z. Slacker, come to call.  Yep, I’m a slacker. But I can change.  If I have to.  I guess.***

* You know you got that one.  Heavens to Murgatroyd, how I love this song.  Here’s “She’s Not There” by The Zombies.

**You spotted this little gem too, you know you did.  “Time of the Season”, again by The Zombies.

***From the old Red Green show, natch.

Questions?  Comments?  Please Share!

9 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Humor, Humour, Music

9 responses to “I Can Change. If I Have To. I Guess.

  1. Funny post. “Time of the Season” always stops me in my tracks, and I have to listen to the whole thing.

  2. I can so relate to your description of reading improperly and deciding to structure it. I was laughing out loud. Do I dare start that biography? It sounds to me like you are eating vegetables.

    • Just another failed attempt at self-improvement. I yam what I yam, I guess. The bio is really good, but for some reason, it’s become a giant Jeff Beck lookin’ albatross around my neck. 😉

  3. Just thinking about the life of Keith Richards is exhausting. I’d have to get a B12 shot if I read his book. 😉

  4. Don’t want to come on too serious and out of step with the bloggeist here, but the sleep hygiene research strongly suggests that your reading elsewhere is a good strategy. Basically, bed should be for sleeping.
    Sorry, me other life broke thru’ for a moment.
    ‘Time of the Season’ is superb.

    • Yeah, I’ve heard that. Darn it. First you give up the Marlboros, bacon, and doughnuts, next thing you know, you can’t read in bed any more. Sigh. 😉

      Love your word “bloggeist”, lol!

  5. Pingback: How Dare You Try to Give Me a New Car, Santa? | My Wild Surmise

Leave a Reply

