Moody Blues Guys

Moody Blues - Days of Future Passed

Moody Blues – Days of Future Passed (Photo credit: kevin dooley)

Moody Blues guys are so gentle; Moody Blues guys are so smart,
Moody Blues guys wear bell bottom jeans that smite the young girls through the heart.

Moody Blues guys live in cool houses that look much better than mine,
Their walls are papered with art prints; their floors are covered in pine.

Moody blues guys play their records whilst sitting cross-legged on the floor,
They burn their candles and incense and tell you “Je t’aime mon amour”.

Moody Blues guys don’t eat burgers, nor pork chops, nor steaks, nor fries,
They slowly sip at their red wine whilst running their hands up your thighs.

Moody Blues guys buy you flowers and snuggle you deep in the quilts,
They ask you to stay cause it’s cold out today and they never intend any guilt.

Moody Blues guys aren’t settled; they are dreaming of life far away,
You will miss the cold nights in white satin; you’ll wish and you’ll pray that they’ll stay.

But Moody Blues guys can’t do that; they’ve got big goals to achieve,
So you’ll let them go though you want to say no, and kiss them real hard when they leave.

For Moody Blues guys make great sweethearts, and better lovers and friends than most,
And you’ll move along, though you’ll hear the old songs, then you’ll write a bad poem in a post.

Okay, I guess that pretty much sums up my story, unless you want to hear the details.  What’s that you say?  You’d like to hear just a few if I have the time?  Wow.  I knew I could count on you.  Well, I had a friend in the dorm my freshman year that came from a big family on the coast – eleven kids, to be exact.  Their dad bought a big, ramshackle, haunted house in the oldest part of town for them all to live in when they came up for college.  Each kid got one year in the dorm then it was off to the haunted house with the others.  The house was really cool, compared to the dorms and crummy apartments in which most of us lived.  It was two stories, with a glassed-in porch upstairs that served as one of the bedrooms, in which lived one of my friend’s older brothers – the Moody Blues guy.

The house was pretty much a bastion of non-stop collegiate-style revelry, as you can well imagine, I’m sure.  But the main attraction for me was the Moody Blues guy.  He was a little older than my group – in his final year of graduate school with big plans to move up north after graduation.  But during that one winter term, he introduced me to, among other things (like vegetarianism, for instance), a lot of great music – not just the Moody Blues, although that’s what stands out in my mind when I reflect back on those days.  The glassed-in porch was always freezing, and we would huddle under thick layers of quilts in front of the electric fire with our veggie lasagna and wine and listen to Days of Future Passed as if it was some kind of ancient oracle or something.

It’s not necessary to be gentle, or smart, or vegetarian, or any of those other things in order to be a Moody Blues guy.  In fact, you don’t even have to be a guy to be a Moody Blues guy – I’m one myself.  It’s tough to choose just a couple songs for my post.  I have quite a long list of favorites, some of which have to be omitted here, because I try (not always successfully) to stick to a limit of three songs per post.  A couple of runners-up off the top of my head would be “Question” and “Tuesday Afternoon”.  But these are my top three.

Wished I could be in your heart, to be one with your love.   Wished I could be in your eyes; looking back – there you were. Isn’t life strange?  A turn of the page…

“Watching and Waiting” is one of the most powerful songs I know.  I think it speaks to some deep loneliness; some central desire or need of the human heart.  Cause here, there’s lots of room for doing the things you’ve always been denied…

And, of course, the masterpiece.  I’m sure you’ll excuse me if I pass on this one, though.  I don’t listen to it much anymore.  Well, okay, what the heck, I may as well. I should be mature enough to handle it, now that most of my days of future have indeed passed.  Here we go…note that the video is a tribute to winter.  Right. Naturally. Perfect.

Questions?  Comments?  Please Share!

13 Comments

Filed under Music, Poetry

13 responses to “Moody Blues Guys

  1. What a great post! The Moody Blues are one of my all-time favorite bands, and I was introduced to them in a very similar way as well – that is, if you substitute life as a crazy 17 year old living in a Air Force dorm in 1973, and a “weirdo” that I now look back on as one of the best friends I ever had. Here’s one of my favs:

    Thanks for the memories! 😀

  2. Ah, The Moodies. Desperately uncool yet somehow inviting and eternally romantic. Or was that just Justin Haywood?
    Here are my Top 3 Moodies songs…
    3. Ride My See-Saw (’68)
    2. Peak Hour (’67) [Not the syrupy orchestral bit, the actual song]
    1. The Story In Your Eyes (’71).

    • All excellent songs as well, Bruce. There are so many of them. The Moodies’ status as uncool suits me just fine, as we’ve already established that I myself am deeply uncool. Uncool but hopefully not cheesy. There’s a fine line of distinction, heh heh. 😉

      • They should care about cool! One of the most successful bands of the early 70s, one of the first to score their own label (Threshold), one of (perhaps the) first to be mellotron owner/operators…

        Uncool? If I’m ever brave enough I’ll write about my ‘Seventh Sojourn’ romance and the utter charmlessness of my 20 year old self. Yikes.

  3. Go for it, Bruce. I’d love to hear about your “Seventh Sojourn” romance, though I seriously doubt that you were charmless at 20. You were a Moody Blues guy, after all. 🙂

  4. I have to admit that it wasn’t really ‘cool’ to like the Moody Blues in the early and mid 70s when I was at secondary school. To be in with the crowd it had to be Bowie and Genesis (in the Peter Gabriel days). The Moodies made some nice songs though which I have come to like. I always had a soft spot for ‘I’m just a singer in a rock and roll band’ – I loved the speed of the song.

    • I know what you mean, they weren’t too cool here either. It was kind of considered “wimpy nerd music”. But I didn’t care – I have always loved it and I think it has stood the test of time. That’s another great song that you mentioned as well. 🙂

  5. Sadly, I was made to feel “uncool” as well because of my love for this great music. But even my very few “enlightened” friends rolled their eyes when they caught me stridently singing along with this Hayward and Lodge classic: 😆

    • I think they were the “uncool” ones for not seeing how great it is, ha! I really care nothing for “cool”, actually. Cool can go jump in the lake as far as I’m concerned. I will be talking about plenty of “uncool” music here, trust me. 😉

  6. Pingback: A Morning Song | My Wild Surmise

  7. Vicki

    Thank you Marie for my most “uncool” tears over “Nights in White Satin”. Gene’O told me I would love your blog and I do. I have spent the last hour reliving my misspent youth listening to your music post. The Cat Stevens was a particularly nice bit. I will be dropping in again, soon.

    • Awwww, how sweet of you…I nearly cried very uncooly myself from reading your comment! Thank you so much for coming by, and please make yourself at home!

Leave a Reply

