One Year of Wild Surmises: Looking Into You

This week marks the one year anniversary of My Wild Surmise! I’m not sure what I’m going to do to celebrate. Dress up in my Ian Anderson outfit and dance around the living room to “Locomotive Breath”, maybe? Go cruise my old cruising strip in the Buick, windows down and rocking out to UFO? I guess not, since I’d probably get arrested for doing that now. Plus you really need Van Halen and Journey and Boston if you want to cruise the strip 1978 style, and I haven’t gotten to them yet, though they are all clamoring for my attention and will be making an appearance soon.

I thought about dragging out poor old Neil from The Young Ones again to interview me, but he made such a fool of us both at the 2013 Marie Awards that I thought it best to just let it lie. So in the end, I decided I’d just talk about my blogging journey thus far. I have already explained, somewhere along the way, that I didn’t even want to have a blog when I first set it up it a year ago. I did it because I was beginning to write fiction and was advised that I needed a blog.

So, okay, I set up a stupid blog, but I didn’t have any idea what I was supposed to do with it. I thought maybe I’d talk about writing, but that was boring as hell, and I was about to shut the thing down, and I would have done it, too, except for two things: there were a few bloggers out there who liked my first several posts, and that made me want to keep going (and you know who you are, but I can’t list any names because I’ll forget somebody, like I always do), and I had this burning desire to talk about the music of my life.

Or at least I thought it was a burning desire to talk about music, but as it turned out, it was a burning desire to talk about me and my life, and focusing on the music served as a catalyst to enable me to do that. I’m no expert on music; in fact, I’m pretty sure that everyone who reads my blog knows more than me about the artists and the music itself. I guess you could say my thing is talking about the emotional and experiential aspect of our music, and I hope that by talking about my own experiences and the music that I associate with them, I’ve helped you to re-experience the music on that level too.

During the year I’ve been blogging, I’ve also been going through major life changes, in pretty much every department and on every level. You name it, it’s changing. I’m not saying that’s a bad thing, but it’s a changey thing, and you know how weird that can be. So what have I been doing with my blog? Well, I guess Mr. Browne would say I’ve been looking into a house I once lived in, and I’ve come to see where my beginnings have gone, and I’m looking in my life for the truth that is my own, and now I’m ready to fly.

Well I looked into the sky for my anthem
And the words and the music came through
But words and music can never touch the beauty that I’ve seen
Looking into you — and that’s true.

It is a dance we do in silence
Far below this morning sun
You in your life, me in mine
We have begun
Here we stand and without speaking
Draw the water from the well
And stare beyond the plains
To where the mountains lie so still

But it’s a long way that I have come
Across the sand to find you here
Among these people in the sun…

Love and peace to my friends and followers; thanks for reading.

Β Questions? Comments? As always, please share…

12 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Music, Uncategorized

12 responses to “One Year of Wild Surmises: Looking Into You

  1. Congrats on one year! I’m so glad you are part of the blogging community. I always look forward to your blogs!

  2. Thanks, Marissa! I never thought I’d stick with it this far, but I guess I got a little hooked on blogging. Who’d a thought? lol. Thanks for your friendship and support, cool lady. πŸ™‚

  3. “Oh oh catch that buzz
    Blog is the drug I’m thinking of
    Oh oh can’t you see
    Blog is the drug, got a hook in me
    Oh oh catch that buzz
    Blog is the drug I’m thinking of
    Oh oh can’t you see
    Blog is the drug for me”

    Congrats, Comrade.

    • Oh my God, that was just too wonderful! I feel faint with joy. My blogging year is now complete! Work in Mother of Pearl and I will consider my work done here. πŸ˜€

    • It dawned on me, after seeing Saturate Before Using hanging on a friend’s wall, that Mr. Browne’s words described my blogging journey perfectly. Thanks, friend. πŸ™‚

  4. Damn Rusty, your blogs have been one of the highlights of my first year of blogging. I’ve learned so much from you (I’m sure it has to do with the teacher in you) and I have discovered what it takes to be a great storytelling from your posts. You my friend have a special talent for writing, You keep writing and I promise to keep reading them.

Leave a Reply

